When one becomes two.

Sheila: You wouldn’t understand.

Ben:     How would you know?Who are you to judge what I would or wouldn’t understand?

Sheila:  You think I just woke up one day and decided I wouldn’t tell you about it?I am a rational human being.

Ben:      What kind of ‘rational’ human being are you?Do you know how ashamed,betrayed and lost I feel?

Sheila:   I chose to keep it to myself because I knew it would upset you more.Since we said our vows you have  changed.You became unapproachable.It hurt me a lot because I still love you,I thought this ‘person’ you have become would be a temporary change,five years later you are still a distant person.

Ben:    Where is all this coming from?I am your husband and I love you too.I have not changed.You are the one who has changed!Remember how you used to tell me your thoughts,plans and dreams.I am even more angry because you are the villain but you make it seem I am the villain.The only victim here is me!I am saying this with the now less respect I have for you.

Shela:You are in denial and you know it!Come to terms with the truth for once in your life.There is no romance in our life.I see you in the morning and I feel as if I have no reason to be in your life.You do not show that you need me and I feel as if I have wasted my time.Maybe I should have married Kamau the village man who I rejected and subjected to the villager’s laugh.

Ben:[Now seated,looking down so his wife wouldn’t see the balancing tears]What really happened to us?I….I….I am your husband,your confidant where  on earth did you get the audacity to keep the miscarriage a secret.

Sheila:I know your ex-wife is in town and I also know with her she brought something valuable with her,A child,a six year old child Ben!Your son.A son that has your blood.You’ve met her haven’t you?

Ben:Uuuumh……..[staring at her as if looking for words to say]Yees Sheila she is in town.She called me because she wanted us to talk.That kid she has may look like me but he is not.I can assure you.I have the D.N.A results.

Sheila:{Staring at he window absentmindedly }I know all that Ben.I know…

Ben:Please forgive me Sheila.You were right I have been distant,reason being I thought that kid Lisa has is mine.Please understand I couldn’t just break the news to you.

Sheila:I understand that Ben.

Ben:Then why are you still angry with me?{Drawing closer to her}Why Sheila?I think I deserve to hear your reason.

Sheila:That night when I had the miscarriage,I called you although you were on your business trip or so I thought.I called the first time and….and whoever picked was not you,it was a woman though she sounded elderly.All I needed Ben was to hear your voice,to hear you say all will be well.Isn’t that why we were united in church in God’s presence.

Ben:[lifted up his shirt and pointed to his stomach]This is why.This is why I was unavailable.I was involved in an accident and I was injured.The lady who picked the phone is a nurse.I did not want you to be upset either.I came back bitter.Bitter at the reality that I hid from you something I should have told you before anyone else.

Sheila:{Ashamed,tearful and regretful}I am really sorry.I think we both need to redefine our relationship.No more secrets.I want us to be whole again like before.I know it will take some time.

Ben:Yes hun,I feel better now.{Hugging like two lovers who had not seen each other for a century}

[Ben wipes her tears and they head to bed]

 

  THE END.

 

9 responses to “When one becomes two.”

Leave a comment