HABITS I NEED TO STOP

When they say listen to your elders,please do.Why I rarely do that is my curiosity which if aroused must be satisfied,sometimes without even thinking about the consequences.I can be a bit stubborn,if I don’t want to do things the way someone else says I’ll not do it.I follow what I think is right without thinking why the other person doesn’t prefer my way of doing things.My pride gets me in trouble.

image

One day I decided to report back to school  before the official reporting date and I must say,the drama that awaited me is something I will never forget.

So I was still fresh in ‘campo’ all hyped up about my new friends and the freedom.I packed my bags left for school which is quite a distance from home.I take at most 10hours to travel.On this particular day,I arrived at 8p.m,worn out,heavy luggage and an aching bum.

Bodabodas were noticeably many,you would think they had some party or they had a meeting,I mean they were all over the place you had to find a place to step on while alighting.

One of them offered to help me with my luggage.I agreed and then he asked where I would like to be taken.I cheerfully said the hostels.I noticed a sarcastic smile on his face and then he told me the hostels are closed.Fortunately,a friend of mine was stranded too,fukes!finally someone to share my troubles with.

There is always a certain relief when someone you know is in the same dark hole with you.We laughed at our ‘little situation’,wondering where would spend the night,so there we were,first years who know no one outside campus or a friend who lives nearby with heavy bags.

The bodaboda guy who told me the bad news listened to our conversation and suggested that we sleep in a lodging.

Hold on,what?My whole life I have never imagined myself sleeping in a lodging.Now we stopped laughing at our predicament and since we had no other option,well we had to ride on a boda so we could look for a place to sleep.

image

We arrived at the nearest lodging and our problems didn’t end there,the lodging was full.

The next lodging was far away and that would mean more expenses.The .’good’ boda guy offered to accomodate us in his brother’s house who often does not sleep at his house.We agreed half-heartedly and with fear because remember,we had just met him.

At that time,questions were racing in my mind.what if,we were going to be raped and left for dead?what if we will be killed or stolen from?Luckily,the looong night passed.My friend and I couldn’t sleep.I could not wait for the sun to rise.

Apparently our good samaritan wanted us to pay accomodation fee of 500 kshs in a room with no lights nor water to drink.A fee which he had not mentioned while taking us to his brother’s house.
We went back to school,broke and looking like beaten up thugs.
One of my lecturers says,”A man does not do you a favour for free.”Now I understand that.

Posted from WordPress for Android

6 responses to “HABITS I NEED TO STOP”

  1. mmmm interesting,For me I agree with the sturbbon part I’m really stubborn to a point I even reject help when I badly need it just to never bend my kaego.I so connect with the piece.

    Like

  2. pride comes before a fall. in this case, it took more than ten hours and an eld-nanyuki distance for the fall to finally arrive. learnt a lesson?

    Like

Leave a comment